Brecon Beacons

The Brecon Beacons National Park consist of four individual mountain ranges, the names of which infuse almost everyone with confusion.

Black Mountain

Mountain Range 1 is the Black Mountain which is the moutain range on the west side of the Brecon Beacons National Park. It is fairly remote and the far west is largely unvisited. The most popular part of this range is the Carmarthen Fan with Fan Brycheiniog and the twin lakes, Llyn y Fan Fach and Llyn y Fan Fawr.

Fforest Fawr

Mountain Range 2 is Fforest Fawr which is separated from the Black Mountain by the Afon Tawe. Fforest Fawr shouldnt be confused with the Fforest Fawr Geopark broadly comprises of the Black Mountain, Fforest Fawr and part of the Brecon Beacons. The south of this range is known as "Waterfall Country" because of the numerous waterfalls. Several of these waterfalls can be walked behind and it is home to the highest waterfall in south Wales, Henrhyd Falls.

Brecon Beacons

Mountain Range 3 is the Brecon Beacons, which happens to be the same name as the entire park. It is separated from Fforest Fawr by the Afon Tarrell to the north of the Storey Arms and the Afon Taff to the south of the Storey Arms. This mountain range includes Pen y Fan, the highest point in southern Britain and probably the most visited place in the National Park, with the path to it known locally as "The Motorway" because of the constant stream of people walking it in the summer.

Black Mountains

Mountain Range 4 is called the Black Mountains, just one letter different from the Black Mountain, and marks the far east of the National Park. It is separated from the Brecon Beacons range by the River Usk. To the north is Hay-on-Wye, famous for its secondhand bookshops and the Hay Festival of Literature which is held each year. Unlike the rest of the park with contiguous hills, the Black Mountains have separate, distinct hills such as Sugar Loaf and Ysgyryd Fawr.